• This ONE
  • Posts
  • Decisions fatigue - in search of the right, safe, and no-regret

Decisions fatigue - in search of the right, safe, and no-regret

How doubt and love dig up our life

This ONE by Yolanda Yu

This ONE idea and its manifestations in life and career

Happy This ONE Friday! I want to share a poem that touched my heart. The journeys I took with some of you this week are singing to it.

We all go through phases of reflection when making important decisions in life. “Doubts and love dig up” our world “like a mole,” often keeping us in limbo with the fear of being wrong. If we stay in “the place where we are right,” unfortunately, “flowers will never grow.”

The good news is, as I learned from my daughter’s science book, moles help soil health despite damaging some grass roots and making the ground unsightly.

So, it’s time to sow seeds and work on your land.

The Place Where We Are Right

Written by Yehuda Amichai and Stephen Mitchell

From the place where we are right
flowers will never grow
in the spring.

The place where we are right
is hard and trampled
like a yard.

But doubts and loves
dig up the world
like a mole, a plow.
And a whisper will be heard in the place
where the ruined
house once stood.

Question For You

What decisions have you been avoiding, seeking to be right, certain, and free from regret?

If you can never be right or certain of the outcomes, what could “no regret” mean?

If you’ve been in this unique phase of life for too long and need to talk, you know I am here for you.

Until next week,

Yolanda Yu
Coach and lifelong learner

Past issues

About this newsletter: You are receiving this email because you have engaged me as a coach or explored my service before. Please excuse me for taking the liberty of sending you the first issues. If you wish to unsubscribe from it, please reply to the email. I will remove you from the mailing list.

Every Friday, I share ONE idea and its manifestations and 1 question for you to ponder. Other ingredients you can expect will be book extracts, quotes, metaphors, tools, resources, and mini-exercises to keep growing your self-awareness.